Local Government leaders awarded for outstanding contribution

Local government leaders have been widely recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours for their outstanding contribution to the sector.

Kwinana Mayor Carol Adams and local history champion and former councillor Peter Astridge are among the local government figures recognised in this year’s Honours, which are awarded each year to citizens who have made an “extraordinary” contribution to Australian society.

Recipients include:


Peter Astridge spent more than two decades supporting the Hunter’s Hill community as a local councillor championing local cultural and history preservation projects and waging battles against the state and federal government to protect community interests.

Kenneth Halstead who worked as a councillor at Wingecarribee Shire Council was another NSW recipient, as was Arthur Medcalf from Lachlan Shire Council and Warren Polglase, who has served as a councillor on Tweed Shire Council for almost 30 years.

Chris Holstein, deputy Mayor of the Central Coast Council was also awarded an OAM medal for his service to the sector and the community of Gosford and was joined by David Border, who served as a representative for Granville from 2007 to 2011.


In Victoria, Laurence Evans, who served as Mayor at Bayside City Council and the City of Sandringham for a number of years, Cr Attley, Tony Antoun from Maroondah City Council and Jill Parker from Moyne Shire Council were all recognised for their contribution to local government and the community.

Jenny Mulholland, former Mayor of Banyule City Council was also recognised alongside Jill Parker, councillor of Moyne Shire Council and Kelvin Spiller, who worked as CEO of Mornington Shire Council.

Western Australia

The Mayor of the City of Kwinana Carol Adams was awarded for her service to the Perth community, where she served as a board member for a number of organisations including local schools, universities and community groups.

Cr Adams was joined by Michael Sutherland, former Lord Mayor of the City of Perth.


Greg Jones, former Mayor of Flinders Shire Council was awarded the medal for his service to the community of North Queensland, where he completed work in local disaster recovery.

South Australia

The Mayor of the Regional Council of Goyder Samuel Mattey took out the award for service to the sector and the local community.

*Image is of Mayor of Kwinana Carol Adams

All Rights Reserved.  Nautilus Media Group Pty Ltd