South Gippsland Inquiry team announced

Only a matter of days after announcing the formation of a Commission of Inquiry into the South Gippsland Shire Council, the Victorian government has unveiled the team that’ll be charged with investigating allegations of corruption in the shire.

State Minister for Local Government, Adem Somyurek, announced both the commissioners and the terms of reference for the inquiry.

“The Commission of Inquiry will help ensure South Gippsland Shire returns to a position of stability so it can effectively govern and deliver for its ratepayers,” Mr Somyurek said.

The Honourable Frank Vincent AO QC, a former Supreme Court judge, will chair the Commission and be joined by two other Commissioners with significant experience in local government:

  • Julie Eisenbise, a former mayor and councillor at Manningham City Council between 1997 and 2005

  • John Watson, a former senior public servant with more than four decades experience across both local and State government.

The terms of reference will see the Commission look into the behaviours of individual councillors, the process of hiring the Acting CEO, and the efficiency and effectiveness of governance arrangements in delivering services to the community.

The Local Government Act 1989 provides the Commissioners with broad ranging powers including summoning witnesses, requiring the production of documents and full access to the council and its documents.

All Rights Reserved.  Nautilus Media Group Pty Ltd