Labor pledges to expand Western Sydney deal

The Federal Labor Opposition has announced it will expand the existing Western Sydney City Deal to include Blacktown City Council as part of its City Partnerships program.

Signed in March last year, the current agreement covers the local governments of Blue Mountains, Camden, Campbelltown, Fairfield, Hawkesbury, Liverpool, Penrith and Wollondilly.

Under the revised agreement, Blacktown City Council, which covers 48 suburbs and is home to over 370,000 will be included as part of the broader 30-minute city strategy.

“Labor will also invest $7.5 million in local priority projects identified by Blacktown City Council, consistent with what the other local councils received and calls on the NSW Government to match this commitment,” Shadow Minister for Cities Anthony Albanese said.

All Rights Reserved.  Nautilus Media Group Pty Ltd