Perth councils announce strategic collaboration

Five of Perth’s major city councils have signed a new Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) that will see them work collaboratively on common strategic issues faced by the the city.

The MOU will see City of Perth, the City of South Perth, the City of Subiaco, the Town of Victoria Park and the City of Vincent working on common issues surrounding transport, tourism and environmental issues.

Deputy Chair Commissioner Gaye McMath said thriving cities are built on collaboration, and the MOU will help facilitate improved partnerships across the local governments. “This MOU will provide an opportunity to strategically align on major issues that affect the wider community, such as waterfront activities and tourism opportunities, and will also support the City of Perth to fulfil its responsibilities under the City of Perth Act 2016,” Deputy Chair Commissioner McMath said. City of South Perth Mayor Sue Doherty said the five local governments have many issues in common, such as transport, parking, tourism, retention of tree canopies as well as the capacity to share information. “We are pleased to be part of this collective, working collaboratively and in partnership beyond our boundaries,” Mayor Doherty said. “By working together, we all agree that we can achieve synergies on strategic matters and address these with a united front.

“Our interactions with other levels of government, as a formal group of neighbouring local governments will enable us to be stronger in our advocacy, elevating and empowering the communities we represent.”

All Rights Reserved.  Nautilus Media Group Pty Ltd