Tasmania appoints LGA review reference group

The Tasmanian Government has appointed the Reference Group for the review of the Local Government Act.

The group’s membership includes local government representatives, local businesses, industry, and community stakeholders.

The Group’s role is to workshop feedback from the already underway consultation process, and provide advice to the Review Steering Committee on possible options for reform.

The Reference Group members are:

  • Doug Chipman, Mayor Clarence City Council

  • Peter Freshney, Mayor, Latrobe Council

  • Kerry Vincent, Mayor, Sorell Council

  • Cheryl Arnol, Councillor, Glamorgan Spring Bay Council

  • Claire Smith, Director Organisational Performance, Waratah Wynyard Council

  • Lynette While, Director Community and Development Services, Meander Valley Council

  • John Brown, General Manager, Break O’Day Council

  • Andrew Paul, General Manager, Clarence City Council

  • Karen Abey, Solicitor, Simmons Wolfhagen

  • Margaret Taylor, community member

  • Pamela Allan, Adjunct Professor, School of Technology, Environment and Design, UTAS

  • Craig Perkins, CEO, Regional Development Australia - Tasmania

  • Rhonda Skelton, Board Member, Northern Midlands Business Association

  • Kym Goodes, CEO, TasCOSS

  • Luke Martin, CEO, Tourism Industry Council Tasmania

  • Brian Wightman, Executive Director, Property Council of Australia – Tas Division

  • Michael Bailey, CEO, Tasmanian Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

New legislation is expected to be in place by 2020 to allow implementation before the next local government elections.The Review’s Terms of Reference and governance structure is available here.