Local government recognised for climate action

The unsung heroes of local government action on climate change were recognised for leading the nation’s climate and energy transformation at the inaugural Cities Power Partner Summit Awards earlier this month.

The awards, held on Thursday 18 October in Kiama, NSW, as part of the Climate Council’s Cities Power Partnership National Summit, recognised the work of local governments around the nation in combating climate change.

Alix Pearce, director of the Cities Power Partnership said that the range of climate solutions coming out of Australia’s councils was staggering.

“The local climate solutions on display at these awards are tangible proof that Australian communities are rising up to meet the challenges of climate change,” she said.

“From supporting local schools to save thousands on their power bills through solar energy to developing Australia’s largest floating solar farm, Cities Power Partnership councils are leading the way with practical local climate solutions.”

“These local heroes are stepping up and getting the job done in the face of continuing Federal climate inaction. It’s time to celebrate these quiet achievers, who are working at the climate frontline and helping their communities to drive down local greenhouse gas pollution”

The Cities Power Partnership Awards celebrated outstanding work from local governments in the fields of renewable energy, energy efficiency, sustainable transport and community advocacy, as well as individual climate champion awards.

Award Winners:

  • Renewable Energy Achievement Award Winner: Solar my School – Three Council Program from Randwick, Waverley & Woollahra Councils (New South Wales)

  • Energy Efficiency Achievement Winner: Newcastle Museum Energy upgrade – The City of Newcastle (New South Wales)

  • Sustainable Transport Achievement Award Winner: Transition to Zero Emissions Vehicles Action Plan 2018-21 – ACT Government

  • Community Engagement Achievement Award Winner: Floating solar farm – Lismore City Council (New South Wales)

  • Knowledge Sharing Award Winner: South East NSW Councils buddy group (New South Wales)

  • CPP Ambassador Award Winner: Clr Ken Keith, Mayor, Parkes Shire Council (New South Wales)

All Rights Reserved.  Nautilus Media Group Pty Ltd