New chair appointed to SA State Planning Commission

The South Australian Government has announced the appointment of Mr Michael Lennon as the Chair of the State Planning Commission following the resignation of inaugural Chair Mr Tim Anderson QC.

The Minister for Planning Stephan Knoll said Mr Anderson had led the delivery of some key planning reform instruments, namely the inaugural Community Engagement Charter and draft State Planning Policies.

“He has helped build a Commission that is approachable and communicative through his collaborative approach and willingness to meet with key stakeholders, most notably local government.

Mr Anderson was appointed Chairperson of the State Planning Commission for a period of three years, commencing on 7 March 2017. Although his term as Chair was not due to expire until 6 March 2020, Mr Anderson offered his resignation “to allow a high level of planning expertise to take over the leadership role”.

“As we move into the next stage of the planning reform process and delivery of the Planning and Design Code, it is my firm belief that the Commission should be under the leadership and guidance of a planning expert,” he said.

Mr Lennon, a current Commission member, has a 25-year career in housing, planning and urban development.

All Rights Reserved.  Nautilus Media Group Pty Ltd