Queensland mayors and councillor suspended under new laws

The Queensland Government has suspended four Mayors and one Councillor following the passage in State Parliament of two pieces of legislation. The suspensions caused embarrassment for the government, as they were announced before the laws had been formally signed off by the governor and therefore had not come into effect.

The suspensions are:

  • Luke Smith – Mayor, Logan City Council. Charges that trigger the legislation include official corruption and perjury.

  • Stacey McIntosh – Councillor, Logan City Council. A stealing charge triggers the legislation.

  • Andrew Antoniolli – Mayor (stood aside), Ipswich City Council. Fraud charges trigger the legislation.

  • Edric Walden – Mayor, Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council. Charges that trigger the legislation include misconduct in public office and forgery.

  • Greg McLean – Mayor, Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire Council. A fraud charge triggers the legislation.

The Mayors and Councillor are suspended on full pay. They cannot appeal the suspensions. Under section 165 of the Local Government Act, the Deputy Mayors in the affected councils will assume the roles and responsibilities of acting Mayor. A suspended councillor is not replaced. The charges which will be dealt with by the courts.

The two reforming bills are the Local Government (Councillor Complaints) and Other Legislation Amendment Bill 2018 and Local Government Electoral (Implementing Stage 1 of Belcarra) and Other Legislation Amendment Bill 2018 .

All Rights Reserved.  Nautilus Media Group Pty Ltd